Trans-Police Relations Webinar

Registration Open!

Please note your time zone: (noon-1:30 Pacific, 1-2:30pm Mountain, 2-3:30pm Central, 3-4:30pm Eastern)



In this webinar we’ll look at the ingredients needed for improving and transforming the relationship between trans communities and police departments, and help you map your path to getting there. Using examples from cities that have made progress in this area, you’ll have the chance to better understand your local situation, and what steps you might need to take to advance your work around policing. We’ll also take a brief look at the broader framework of laws that may help guide your efforts. There will also be plenty of time for questions. Our presenter is Jason Terry, a peace and justice trainer and advocate who has been an anti-violence organizer with the DC Trans Coalition for five years, and is a co-founder of the DC Anti-Violence Collaborative. Jason is the lead liaison for DC LGBT organizations working with DC’s Metropolitan Police Department (MPD), and is a member of MPD’s LGBT Violence Prevention and Response Team and the U.S. Attorney for DC’s Hate Crimes Task Force.


This project was supported by Grant No. 2011-TA-AX-K121 awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women.